Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

By submitting this request, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Reviews

 

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • Unforgettable

    “The entire Jaguar trip was really fun — learning our way around Cusco, visiting Sacsayhuaman and the Sacred Valley, and seeing a bit of Amazonia. But the highlight for my husband and me was hiking the Inca trail. We had heard from friends that it was an adventure not to be missed, and we were not disappointed. It’s incredibly beautiful and a wonderful learning experience. And is always the case on guided group trips, your fellow travelers, as well as the guide, are a big factor in how much fun you have. We were lucky on both counts. Our guide on the trail, Wilson, was the best! He was incredibly knowledgeable about Inca history and culture, as well as the flora, and brought humor to every occasion. And our fellow hikers were great. Because we saw and learned so much much about the Inca civilization on the trail, arriving at Machu Picchu didn’t feel so much like the high point of the hike but rather one more beautiful and interesting stop. The weather cooperated with just a few spritzes of rain, although we heard that a group that hiked the trail a week before us had rain for 3 days! We had no problems with altitude sickness, and it probably helped that we arrived 1-1/2 days ahead of the official trip start. We were in reasonably good shape and found the trail challenging but definitely within our ability. Mostly it takes perseverance. We enjoyed visiting the Amazon region and seeing creatures that we’ve never seen in person before. But it was very hot (not surprisingly) and despite drinking lots of water, I suffered from heat exhaustion the first day. We were pretty inexperienced in traveling to non-English speaking countries, but it didn’t take long before we felt right at home. With our smattering of Spanish (and I’m talking single words, not phrases or sentences), we were able to get around just fine, as most of the locals we encountered spoke at least enough English for us to communicate. And when they didn’t, I used my trusty Lonely Planet Spanish phrase book. We felt totally safe in Cusco and Lima, following basic common sense rules. This was our second Active Adventures trip, and as before, they were totally organized and professional and managed to keep things moving along smoothly, even when our original guide for the overall trip fell ill a few days in and had to be replaced with another guide. The food was delicious (even on the trail). We actually connected 3 Active Adventures trips for our South America visit, and will definitely travel with them again, perhaps to Patagonia next time.”
    Ann Zeman – Washington, United StatesJaguar, June 2018
  • Interesting and unusual

    “I’ve been interested the Galápagos Islands since learning about them in school, so it was wonderful to finally see them and their fascinating creatures in real life. The first surprise was how many humans actually live full time there - 30,000 on the four inhabited islands. I had always envisioned the islands as having no human habitation, except maybe scientists! We were able to see many of the well-known animal inhabitants, both on land and underwater, including blue-footed boobies, frigate birds, sea iguanas, green sea turtles, rays, lots of fish, and, of course, the giant tortoises. Visiting the giant tortoise breeding centers was really interesting. The snorkeling was fun, albeit a little chilly out in the open water. Where we snorkeled in more protected water, it was warmer. The hotels we stayed in were wonderful - nearly all facing the water, with clean and comfortable rooms. The meals were excellent, and our only complaint was there being too much food at times! Because this is a land-based trip, we traveled by speed boat between destinations. We were lucky that the seas were fairly calm, because we heard it can get rough sometimes. Our guide, who went by the nickname Zambo, grew up in the islands and was excellent - attentive, helpful, and organized. This was our third Active Adventures trip, and as far as this one being “active”, it was less so than the others, which makes it suitable for a wider range of travelers.”
    Ann Zeman – Washington, United StatesTortuga, June 2018
  • Exploring Peru!

    “What an adventure! We had an amazing trip led by our fearless leader Gustavo. We had a great crew helping us and we felt very well cared for the entire time...and very safe! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who asks.”
    Kristina Kenning – Montana, United StatesJaguar, June 2018
  • Peru at its Best

    “Active Adventures' Jaguar/Chinchilla trip was better than advertised. Excellent guides, food, accommodation and itinerary. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who has a desire to see Peru, and not from the window of a bus.”
    Brenda Done – Ontario, CanadaChinchilla, June 2018
  • Absolutely Amazing!

    “My Rimu trip was fantastic! It was very well organized, guides Koru and Carrie were very knowledgeable about the areas we visited and it was great to get a feel for what New Zealand is all about. I loved staying in some of the smaller, less known areas, and the choices of hikes were fabulous and really highlighted the beautiful nature in New Zealand. We also lucked into some great weather, especially for it being so close to winter, and I knew I was seeing some amazing sights when both guides were out snapping pictures right alongside us! This was definitely a trip of a lifetime and one I will always look back on with a huge smile on my face. I would come back in a heartbeat!”
    Jacqui Slade – British Columbia, CanadaRimu, June 2018
  • Couldn't Have Been Better!

    “The 'Rimu' trip was a great way to see the range of different terrain of the South Island without having to worry about logistics like driving and finding trailheads on my own! With great fall weather and wonderful new hiking buddies, this was an unforgettable adventure! On top of that, my guides were so much fun and had lots of history and stories to share along the way. Couldn't have had a better trip with Active Adventures.”
    Hannah Gendelman – Massachusetts, United StatesRimu, June 2018
  • Pleasant Surprise

    “We had been planning a trip to New Zealand for several years. We looked at renting a camper and driving around to all the beautiful sites on our own...we are so glad we didn’t.

    Going with a small group with knowledgeable guides was a great decision. Everyday we had new and exciting experiences. Somehow each day was better than the previous one. The real advantage of going with guides who know the country is you get to experience off the beaten path sites that you would never find on your own. Every day we were told what time breakfast started and what our itinerary for the day was. No worrying about driving, where to stop for meals, and where to stay for the night. Another pleasant surprise was how much the group added to the overall experience.

    Highlights for us: the multi-day kayaking was fantastic, Milford Sound was awe inspiring, the night time hike to see the glow worms felt like being at camp (for adults), and the beauty of the West Coast beaches will stay with us for a really long time.

    We are already planning our next Active Adventure trip.”
    Tina Kelly – Colorado, United StatesRimu, June 2018
  • EBC - March/April 2018

    “This truly was the Adventure of a Lifetime!! We had high expectations and they were exceeded in every way; our wonderful guides Amanda and Gokul, the incredible scenery, the fantastic hospitality everywhere we went!”
    Cindy Franz – Virginia, United StatesEBC, June 2018
  • Wow!

    “We got to see everything you've always heard of in the Galapagos.”
    Ken Zeman – Washington, United StatesTortuga, June 2018
  • Great Tortuga Trip

    “This trip operated like a well oiled machine. Very organized and well run. The highlight for me was the flora and fauna and the protections in place to make sure the environment thrives.”
    Astrid Green – Oregon, United StatesTortuga, June 2018
  • Galapagos Adventure

    “My Galapagos adventure was a great experience. I had never snorkled before, so I can't believe I actually snorkeled with amazing creatures, including sharks, turtles, and sea lions. Our group experienced an extra bonus swimming with a huge school of golden rays. Zambo was a wonderful guide: so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about all aspects of the trip. His good cheer was infectious and gave our group great 'karma.'”
    Andrea Rudolph – New York, United StatesTortuga, June 2018
  • Manuka

    “Great hiking, enjoyed the walk on the glacier at Franz Josef, and the Milford Sound Trek was the highlight for my six weeks in New Zealand, on three Active Adventures.”
    George Wark – Ontario, CanadaManuka, June 2018
  • RIMU Bucket List Trip

    “Active Adventures New Zealand exceeded my expectations. From the itinerary to the accommodations to the meals to the phenomenal guides, I couldn't have asked for better.”
    Angela Sieloff – Texas, United StatesRimu, June 2018
  • Awesome Trip

    “This trip was everything I hoped for. The guides were the best; professional and knowledgeable in the local people, customs, language and high alpine trekking. This was the first time in a lifetime of travel and outdoor adventure that we had ever used a guide. I didn't know what to expect as we have always been "on our own" during climbing, hiking, traveling and camping. It was a good choice as trekking in Nepal is obviously serious and can be a complicated event. especially when you factor in the remoteness and especially the altitude. Our guides were the best in every respect and I now count them as good friends. I have no complaints about anything as I didn't expect (or want) plush accommodations and gourmet food. We went there for the mountains, the history and for a tough physical challenge, which we had in spades. We hope to go back again at some point to climb Island Peak. Especially after seeing other guide services while there, we were very happy we chose Active Adventures as our guides. You guys are the best we saw. I loved that our group was small too. In my opinion that makes a big difference in the experience. I will recommend Active to everyone I know that is considering a trip to EBC. Thanks again for your professional and friendly service. It was worth every penny.
    Paul”
    PJ Roarke Jr. – Florida, United StatesEBC, June 2018
  • Variety and Flexibility

    “What i love most about this tour is not just the variety of the activities, but more importantly the flexibility of choosing what I would like and not like to do. If something is too hard or too inconvenient, I was always given the choice to opt out of that activity.”
    Rhyan Uy – , PhilippinesTui, June 2018
  • Fantastic EBC Trip, Even if Cut Short...

    “Even though I got sick at Gorak Shep and I failed to make the 3k final afternoon trek to base camp, this trip was a once in a lifetime adventure. The trip leader, Claire, and guide, Shree, were beyond professional and caring. I am definitely glad that Active Adventures was my choice as an outfitter. All aspects of the trek were defined and all we had to do was trek and enjoy the beauty of the people and the scenery of the Himalayas.”
    David Schaeffer – Texas, United StatesEBC, June 2018
  • Peru

    “Awesome experience! All went well and our guide (Danny) was fantastic! No bad days!”
    Andrew Randazzo – Virginia, United StatesJaguar, June 2018
  • Aptly Named Tour company

    “They told us they were “Active Adventures” and it was! Every day brought a new adventure with a variety of activity levels from low (bus rides) to very high (hiking the Inca trail). Overall, the trip was well-organized and the attention to detail (safe restaurants, drinking water in hotels, arranging laundry service) was greatly appreciated.”
    Pat Drews – Saskatchewan, CanadaJaguar, June 2018
  • Kauri February 2018

    “A Great trip! Despite unseasonably high levels of rainfall, Andy always had a Plan B, which was greatly enjoyed. Together with Jo's great culinary skills, this was a memorable adventure.”
    George Wark – Ontario, CanadaKauri, June 2018
  • Our Amazing Honeymoon

    “Words cannot explain just how incredible this trip was. Katie and Astrid were wonderful guides and the entire trip was perfect, and I hate using that word. We had rain, sunshine, and even a hike through the snow at Ben Lomond, and I wouldn't have changed a thing. This was the experience of a lifetime and I strongly recommend it for anyone who wants to get a little more out of a vacation!”
    Frank Garcia – Florida, United StatesTui, June 2018
  • The Best Trip with the Best Tour Guides - Claire & Holly

    “My husband and I went on our Honeymoon to New Zealand for 2 weeks and took half of the time to be with Active Adventures. That was the best decision we could have made. It was extremely well organized, just the right amount of activity, hit just about all the places we wanted to go on our bucket list, the accommodations were more than we expected, and we couldn't have had better tour guides than Claire & Holly. They were extremely friendly, welcoming, talkative, informative, cooked great meals, had great conversations, were very passionate about the outdoors and wildlife, and overall really great hosts. This was our first time doing a official tour when traveling, and it exceeded our expectations. We could go at our own pace on the hikes and enjoy the group for the social aspect, but also get off on our own to have some peace and quiet. We really don't have a bad word to say. Highly Recommend!”
    Laura Miller – Iowa, United StatesManuka, June 2018
  • Iguana

    “This trip has a little of everything – ancient history, extraordinary wildlife, great food, amazing views, secluded beaches, spectacular mountains, thrilling heights, and fascinating culture. It went by way too fast. ”
    Kimberli Werner – Thirsk, United KingdomIguana, May 2018
  • New Zealand or Bust

    “New Zealand is beautiful and we had a fabulous time!! This trip is not for the faint of heart but you will see some extraordinary rain forests, glaciers, waterfalls, rivers, sunrises and sunsets. Oh, I can't forget the birds.

    Our 2 weeks with Kim and Holly were wonderful. They make an excellent team. They made sure we were never bored! The food Holly created was a definite highlight. Kim and Holly were relentless is their efforts for us to learn about Maori and New Zealand legend, language and history. And we did learn! It was all so much fun. They both are so well versed in the flora, fauna and geology of the area.

    They kept us on our toes and on schedule. They were quick on their feet when a planned event had to be altered and they were always very patient with the group.

    Our group was small with 4 people the first week and 6 people the second week. As with every group there is a variety of physical activity levels, Holly and Kim were always so accommodating and encouraging. The most challenging hike for me was our trek to the Welcome Flat Hut on the Copeland Track. (I guess I am not as young as I used to be.) The most annoying pests on the trip were the sand flies. I survived the Copeland Track and the sand flies and took some amazing pictures. It is hard not to take amazing pictures in New Zealand, it is such a beautiful and dramatic island and country.”
    Terry Thomas – California, United StatesWinter Rimu, May 2018
  • Jaguar trip - May 2018

    “Wonderful experience. The four day Classic Inca Trail hike that ended at Machu Picchu was by far the best part of the trip!”
    Dave Joerger – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, May 2018
  • So Many Amazing Surprises!

    “Our guide was a delight, well informed and interesting. I was so surprised at the great accommodations on the trail and in the jungle. I felt very well taken care of. The chef on the trail was a food genius. This was our first tour, so pleased with all.”
    Tammy Joerger – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, May 2018
  • Winter Rimu

    “Elise and I had a great time on your trip. Holly was a great cook and Kim kept us on schedule. They both shared lots of interesting information. I liked the variety of activities offered so we had a break from hiking some days. The Copeland hike was very beautiful yet hard on the body near the end. The hot springs were a nice welcome. Both Elise and I would have liked to reach one peak if possible.The kayak in Milford Sound was amazing and beautiful. All the drives were very scenic.”
    Chris Huet – Ontario, CanadaWinter Rimu, May 2018
  • All About Active Participation and the Guides

    “We were apprehensive about taking a guided tour with other people, but we took a leap of faith based on other reviews and speaking with Active Adventures and we weren't disappointed. Staying busy and outdoors in a country which seems to have been created for such was ideal, and our guides, Kim and Holly, were excellent resources for history and local knowledge. Kim was a great driver, Holly the perfect chef, and both excellent guides and quick thinkers whenever the weather necessitated a slight change in plans. Don't think we would have done the long "hut" hikes without them, but so glad we did. Very rewarding! Still fit but nearing 70, this was ideal for us with lots of activity but someone else planning everything and doing all the driving! Highly recommend.”
    Duncan Thomas – California, United StatesWinter Rimu, May 2018
  • Experiencing New Zealand's Finest

    “What a great trip we had! Every day we felt like living beings inside nature’s paintings. Many Thanks to our wonderful guides Carrie & Koru, who showed us the most spectacular sites of New Zealand’s South Island.”
    Walter Frankmoelle – Nevada, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Peru (Machu Picchu) and the Galapagos.

    “Once again this was an amazing trip. Warm, kind wonderful people in Peru. Our hike on the Inca Trail was a full day of walking and some incredible scenery.
    Machu Picchu was so exciting to see, and to walk up to Sun Gate and look down below unto the amazing scenery is very hard to describe to you, unless you have been there. Absolutely beautiful...this was the highlight of the trip for me. But the Galapagos was another great memory. Going to the Darwin Centre to see the giant tortoises, and to walk amongst them was something else. Biking and snorkelling was enjoyable as well. A lot about this trip was wonderful and I would definitely recommend this trip to active people.”
    Bonnie Reid – Ontario, CanadaIguana, May 2018
  • The Best of Two Cultures!

    “Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley of Peru mixed with the Galápagos Islands was an adventure that will never be forgotten. I found so much beauty in both cultures. The friendly hard working people of Peru, the colourful wear, the wonderful food and the rich history of the Inca people was awe-inspiring. I could not stop the tears of joy when I first saw the majesty of Machu Picchu. I fulfilled my childhood dreams (well past the age of a child) in the Galapagos with the visit to Charles Darwin Research Institute and the visit with the giant land tortoises. What magnificent creatures they are. The food in both countries was wonderful making this a culinary experience as well. Our tour mates were so much fun and we will long stay friends, well at least virtual pals. The tour guides, Daniel, Zambo and Lenni were so knowledgeable and made certain at all times that everyone was well, which can not always be easy with differing levels of fitness, different ages and different wants. Great accommodations and transportation made all comfortable even after a long day of activity. Thank you to Active Adventures.”
    Darlene Arsenault – British Columbia, CanadaIguana, May 2018
  • Experience of a Lifetime

    “To start, everything was 10/10. Especially the two wonderful people that we were fortunate enough to have as our guides, Elder and Amrit. Consummate professionals, exceptionally friendly, extremely knowledgeable, with a real concern and attention to my well being. Simply outstanding!

    When you're with the right people, the rest of the trek will take care of itself. Stay healthy, have fun, listen to the advice of your guides, put in the elbow grease, and you'll slide into base camp like a dolphin down a water slide. ”
    Branden Roarke – Florida, United StatesEBC, May 2018
  • Amazing Two Weeks

    “We had a wonderful two weeks with a great group of trip mates, two outstanding guides, and a very diverse itinerary. The only thing I would change is the weather. But we trekked on!”
    Marie Shull – North Carolina, United StatesKiwi, May 2018
  • Great Place to visit

    “Each island brought a new day of discovery...they were all beautiful and each had its own highlights...Highly recommend.”
    Cindy Fowser – New Jersey, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • Cusco, Inca Trail

    “Eric Farfan was an amazing guide. He was very knowledgeable, patient, kind, and had so much respect for my fear of heights. Which I did overcome while hiking the Inca Trail.”
    Robin Goebel – Texas, United StatesJaguar, May 2018
  • Tortuga

    “Zambo was a fantastic guide. So knowledgable and full of enthusiasm. The Galapagos was unbelievable. More than I would have expected. We had a great group of people on this trip with us. We have made friends with all of them and treated each other like family. ”
    Robin Goebel – Texas, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • Amazing Adventure Led by Guide of the Century!

    “As a 71 year old not really active senior, I was a bit leery about joining this adventure, but my friends talked me into it. Thanks to our compassionate, passionate, caring guide Pablo, I was able to participate in every expedition (I chose snorkeling the tunnels rather than hiking the volcano!) and learned more about the Galapagos islands and its flora, fauna, and geography than I ever thought possible.”
    Susan Ze – Arizona, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • Travelling Alone

    “I've done two trips with Active in the last 3 years. I have met some fantastic people, some of whom will be friends for life!”
    Dave Bacon – Alberta, CanadaAST, May 2018
  • Manuka

    “Fabulous! Thank you for a wonderful adventure!”
    Alice Feller – California, United StatesManuka, May 2018
  • An Amazing Adventure

    “What a fabulous trip! Everything was so well-organized and all of the people involved were fabulous. We got the guide of the century having Pablo as our naturalist. Pablo managed to have a surprise for us each and every day. It was like he special-ordered all the best from weather to food to unusual plants and animals each day. We saw so many plants and animals that I'd never seen before. It was incredible to come across tortoises in the wild and this was the first time I'd seen flamingos in the wild and got to see them fly. That was spectacular. It was great to get to snorkel nearly every day. Swimming with the sea lions, tortoises, hammerheads, reef sharks was memorable. I loved seeing a bryde whale and the manta rays on one of our travel days on the boat as well as a bird feeding frenzy after our snorkel at Kicker Rock. All of the boat captains did a fabulous job maneuvering the boats for the best views and photos of the wildlife and scenery. The kayaking day at Isabela was one of our favorite days. What a gorgeous bay! I would have loved to have stayed on Isabela for one more day so that we could have gone on the Sierra Negra hike AND go snorkeling at Los Tuneles. We had to choose one or the other, but it would be great to do both (based on the pictures I saw). This is a terrific company and I will definitely recommend you to others. Thanks for a great experience.”
    Georganne Nuger – California, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • GREAT Highlights/Overview of the South Island of Aotearoa/NZ

    “When you only have a week, and no way to plan your own journey, and enough money, THIS IS THE TRIP. I still have trouble believing Active Adventures could put so many different activities (hiking, kayaking, cycling, airplane flight, overnight cruise, jet boat) in so many different locations in one week. The small-sized group was great (we avoided booking a guided trip with a different company that had "only 50 others" - yikes!) 7 of us and 2 guides. This meant a nice-sized vehicle rather than a touring coach, and good interactions. The guides were young Kiwis who clearly love their country, and have learned much about it. The emphasis was on seeing the land, the water, the wildlife, and learning a bit about native Maori culture rather than on plush accommodations and 5-star dining. That said, the hotels/motels were more than adequate, and they are places to which we'll return if we ever get the chance. It was pricey, but we'd never have been able to do this ourselves, and we had a BLAST. And now we know where we want to go back and go more slowly.”
    Julie Peyton – Oregon, United StatesTui, May 2018
  • Sweet As....

    “My experience with Active Adventures on the South Island of New Zealand was as sweet as the sweetest Manuka honey. I was amazed by the adventure in itself; the dazzling landscapes, the flora and fauna but bedazzled by our expert guides who maneuvered our van and trailer with expertise, prepared fantastic meals and dealt with any and all situations with a professionalism way beyond their millennial ages of 23 and 26. There were never any worries, lots of laughter and organization of each day that caused me to have no worries. Some of the daily itineraries had to be adjusted due to weather, road conditions or cancellations and Jackie and Lauren just rolled with it and kept us informed and happy. The hikes we took were just right for my level of fitness. The sights and sounds met all of my expectations and I would definitely do it all again.”
    Nancy Hopkins – Missouri, United StatesKiwi, May 2018
  • It Lived Up To My Expectations!

    “I've wanted to see New Zealand for 30 years. It lived up to my expectations.”
    Marianne Denniston – Georgia, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Awesome North Island Adventure

    “We had an awesome time with Active Adventures on the Kauri North Island trip with our tour guide Andy. An excellent variety of hikes, water activities, and mountain biking with a backdrop of fantastic ocean, forest, and mountain scenery. The accommodations and meals were great. But best of all was our experienced guide Andy who led the hikes, provided the right dose of New Zealand history and culture while driving us from one adventure to the next, and cooked us great meals. Well done! ”
    Michael Wellons – New Jersey, United StatesKauri, May 2018
  • Kiwi Adventures

    “The Kiwi trip is an excellent exploration of the South Island. Fantastic scenery, a great variety of relaxed outdoor activities, plenty of good food and great accommodations, and awesome guides from Active Adventures NZ.”
    Michael Wellons – New Jersey, United StatesKiwi, May 2018
  • Rimu New Zealand

    “What an amazing way to visit New Zealand. Lot's of driving but well worth it and was able to see most of the South Island. Hiking was amazing as well as the kayaking at Milford Sound. The guides, Carrie and Koru were both amazing and very patient with all of us. Places that we stayed were all very nice and the weather we had was amazing!”
    Brigitte Rosson – Texas, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • You Had Me At Sea Turtles

    “The Galapagos was everything I expected and then some! Zambo was a perfect guide and our group was terrific. We had talked about a land based trip vs. a sea based, and although I love the idea of staying on the water, I get sea sick in a bath tub. I liked being on land so we could explore the towns we were in and appreciate the Galapagos culture.”
    Lori Alter – Texas, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • 10 Days in Paradise

    “The trip was wonderful and the group was very compatible. Zambo and Paulo did a great job showing us their beautiful part of the world. The wildlife and the food were outstanding and exceeded my very lofty expectations.”
    Anne Weitz – Idaho, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • First Solo Trip - So Worth It!

    “This was my first international trip where I traveled alone and it was so worth it! Every last detail is planned for you so it couldn't be any easier. The packing list was right on ( I used everything they suggested bringing) and rented a couple items to save enough packing space to allow me to bring only a carry on. I love active trips but get nervous trying to plan out all of the logistics.(where to stay, best things to see, transportation, etc) It was wonderful to find a way to travel without all the additional headaches. Would definitely travel with this company again!”
    Shelly Stefanik – Wisconsin, United StatesCondor, May 2018
  • What a Wonderful Experience!

    “Overall, the Tortuga trip exceeded our expectations. Our guides Zambo and Paulo were great, travel was easy, the hotels and food were excellent, and the wildlife viewing was better than I had hoped. I really like the "active" part of the Active Adventures tours.”
    Tom Weitz – Idaho, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • Lake Titicaca Really Exists

    “Lake Titicaca was a surprise I didn't expect. The floating Islands were amazing and I loved our homestay on Amantani Island. ”
    Lori Alter – Texas, United StatesChinchilla, May 2018
  • Machu Picchu is Amazing! Completing the Hike is Victory!

    “Machu Picchu is one of the "New 7 Wonders of the World" - on the same list as the Great Wall of China. Hiking the Inca Trail at 62 is the most difficult challenge physically I have undertaken. But I did it!! The exhilaration of crossing Sleeping Woman Pass at 14,200 feet is almost (but not quite) as amazing as our first views of Machu Picchu from above. We loved the trip - the food, the sherpas, our guide, and the miracles of history and the 21 civilizations of Peru, culminating with the Inca Empire. How did they build this? Miracles of engineering as remarkable as the pyramids in Egypt!”
    Brian Alter – Texas, United StatesJaguar, May 2018
  • Do Not Miss Lake Titicaca - and Amazonia was great!

    “Our experience on Lake Titicaca, with the Floating Islands and the Uros people, and with the overnight on Amantani Island is why we travel. Lake Titicaca - the highest navigable lake in the world at 12,500 feet, and salt water being a trapped part of the ocean is magnificent waterscape. We travel not only to see special places. We also want to meet the people and experience the culture first hand. Our way of life is a great way, but it is not the only way, nor is it the only right way. We loved meeting and spending a night in the home of these indigenous people.”
    Brian Alter – Texas, United StatesChinchilla, May 2018
  • This Trip Was My Wife's Lifelong Dream - and it Came TRUE!

    “Galapagos is simply amazing. If you love to experience wildlife nose to nose this is the place. Sea Lions, Iguana, Pelicans, Sea Turtles, Giant Tortoises, Sharks, Blue Heron etc. Snorkeling, hiking - we loved it all. A great trip for adults, and your kids if they swim and snorkel. This is a wildlife adventure to remember forever.”
    Brian Alter – Texas, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • A Wonderful Experience!

    “The Active Adventures Himalayas trek to Annapurna Base Camp was a truly fantastic experience. Our guides Melissa & Arjun and our porters Kedar & Sudharsun are all great people! The ascent to ABC at 4am to be present for sunrise is a memory I will always treasure. I'm very thankful and grateful for this experience. Thank you to everyone at Active Adventures!”
    Ticia Downie – Alberta, CanadaAST, May 2018
  • Delightful Galapagos

    “Fantastic trip...a sensory feast for the soul. Many unique experiences including snorkeling with iguanas and one afternoon we watched and giggled with amazement as a young seal and a young black tip reef shark played in this small pool in the lava rocks. WOW!”
    Steve Leslie – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • Maximum Use of Vacation Time

    “Love the fact that every day there was so much to see and do in the great outdoors of New Zealand! The guides were not only tons of fun but also very knowledgeable about their awesome country. They knew how to efficiently revise the schedule when weather interfered such that every day was seamless from morning to night. Loved the fact the guides prepared healthy meals whenever it was necessary to keep to a time schedule. Would love to return again to take in the areas where mother nature's rainstorms impacted our ability to safely hike into some areas. Recommend this trip to anyone who loves being active!”
    Joan Berkowitz – Washington, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Manuka

    “An absolutely wonderful adventure and the people who made it exceptional where our two guides, Claire and Holly.
    Both were very organized, fun and professional!”
    Jeanne Keith-Ferris – British Columbia, CanadaManuka, May 2018
  • Kauri

    “Wow, we enjoyed our first leg of the journey through Active Adventures so much -- I am happy we went for the double header!
    We spent our entire vacation time with Active Adventures -- one whole month! Not a missed beat on the part of your company -- everything was executed perfectly -- thank you!”
    Jeanne Keith-Ferris – British Columbia, CanadaKauri, May 2018
  • Manuka trip March 2018

    “Wonderful trip, guides were great organisers and great company. They put huge effort into making it interesting and fun.”
    Brian Reilly – , United KingdomManuka, May 2018
  • Best Hike Ever

    “Kate and I were a bit hesitant about signing up for the Condor due to our ages (70 and 73). However we trained by hiking hills with light packs starting 6 months or so before the trip. The training paid off as we were able to make the bigger hikes in Torres del Paine and Fitzroy area with nothing more than slightly sore legs at the end of the day. The evenings in the refugios were great. We were surrounded by energetic, cheerful mostly younger hikers from many countries. The refugios themselves are basic but clean and warm. The scenery was stupendous and dramatic. There were cloud wreathed peaks, rainbows, wind squalls, avalanches, wildflowers and lakes of many hues of blue. Our group was varied in age and background and conversations were lively and enlightening. Later on in the trip we moved from refugios to boutique hotels and were delighted by the friendly spirit of the locals.
    Most of all however we enjoyed the company of our trip leader Cynthia. She clearly loved her job! She was great at getting us on the trail on time, arranging buses, restaurant bookings and helping with the little details. She is incredibly knowledgeable about the parks, the history and human nature. Always friendly and smiling. What a good person she is. We wish her well in her next adventure and she has an open invitation to visit with us at our home in the high Sierra of California.
    Richard Harvey”
    Richard Harvey – California, United StatesCondor, May 2018
  • Incredible Time in Patagonia!

    “We had an absolute blast on the Condor trip. The scenery down there is some of the most drastic in the world, and the trip allowed us to see as much as possible in the time we had. Cahit was a fantastic, enthusiastic guide who kept the group motivated all trip. Our local guides, Ana and Cristian, were great as well. As my brother and I were a bit younger than the group, we very much appreciated the guides finding ways to challenge us on the trail. Food and lodging was also nice throughout the trip. Highly recommend!”
    Jordan Altaras – Washington, United StatesCondor, May 2018
  • Could Not Have Asked For A Better Holiday!

    “This trip was so amazing, that I did not know how badly I needed it until it was over and I returned home. New Zealand is a beautiful country and it was almost overwhelming how much we were able to see and explore in just two short weeks. Our guides were superb and challenged the scenery for title of best part of the trip. ”
    Justin Sheldon – Washington, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Exceeded our expectations - New Zealand is AMAZING!

    “We had never done a "guided" trip before and I now tell friends it the only way to go, especially with Active Adventures! First of all we cannot say enough about the amazing job all our guides did. They were so kind, knowledgeable, and caring in making sure we had the best experience on our tour. They were the best! They made each day an "Adventure" and shared their love and knowledge of New Zealand with us. On top of being super guides they also can cook! The meals that they prepared for us along the way were more than one would expect out of a chilly box. We looked forward to sharing these delicious meals together with our fun group. Traveling with our group in our mini bus was a pleasure. There was plenty of room, comfortable ride, good music and there was always plenty of fresh fruit, snacks and water available for us. The schedule is obviously well planned and we looked forward to each day and new Adventure that was scheduled. The guides were well aware of any limitations and worked around these so that we could still fully enjoy and make the most of the day. There were many days of feelings of accomplishment for doing what we did and we always slept well at night. We felt that this trip gave us a wonderful first time tour of the North Island. The accommodations that we stayed at were excellent. Always clean and comfortable and some had the most amazing views. It was always a treat when you spent two nights in the same place. When the guides weren't cooking, the places that we ate were always very good. My only complaint is with myself because I did not take the advise about how much clothes to pack and I packed way too much! The majority of the places we stayed had laundry facilities so we could do laundry. I am now much more aware of this for our next Adventure. We've travelled quite a bit in our 48 years of marriage and we tell people that this is the first time we can honestly say that we loved EVERYTHING about this trip, New Zealand and the people we met along the way.”
    Nancy Shaw – New York, United StatesKauri, May 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “After completing the 11 day Kauri trip on the North Island and having a week on our own, we met our group for the 14 day Kiwi tour of the South Island. It was a much larger group with diverse personalities and physical abilities. Once again we were blessed with two excellent guides who love what they do. We had a much larger group on this trip and Koru and Emma made sure that everyone's needs were met (and there were many!). Koru's knowledge about the Mauri culture and New Zealand was astounding. He was also aware of any limitations among the group and made sure that we made the best of every adventure we were doing. Emma was a great guide and super organizer in making arrangements for the day and in preparing meals for all of us and those with special dietary requirements. I don't know how she does it! The meals they prepared were always delicious. The bus was comfortable and once again we always had a plentiful supply of fresh fruits and snacks and water available for us. There was a considerable amount of driving on this trip so it was important to be comfortable. Our schedule was well planned and when adjustments had to be made because of weather our guides were at the ready with other options for us to do. All the activities were designed to meet everyone's abilities and give a sense of gratification upon completion.

    The accommodations we stayed at were great with the exception of the Makarora Lodges which were just a lot more rustic than what we had been used to.

    For us, doing the Kiwi tour was the best way to see and learn about the South Island.”
    Nancy Shaw – New York, United StatesKiwi, May 2018
  • Exceeded My Expectations

    “Awesome. Exceeded my expectations!Very well organized and Patagonia scenery is incredible”
    Dale Murdoch – Nebraska, United StatesCondor, May 2018
  • Trekking the Inca Trail

    “We had an amazing trip trekking the Inca Trail to Machu Pichu and then Flying to Puerto Maldonado to explore the Amazon Rain forest. We were incredibly well cared for by our Active Adventures trip guide, Zack. The 4 day trek to Machu Pichu was guided by Wilson. He made sure that each of us was able to complete the trip, by encouraging us and teaching us about the spiritual nature of the area. He watched our pace carefully and made sure that each of us felt supported. Our group of 4 close friends will be forever grateful for the experiences that we had on this trip.”
    Roya Murray – Nova Scotia, CanadaJaguar, May 2018
  • Wildest Dreams!

    “The entire trip was beyond my wildest dreams. From the spectacular beauty of the country, the fabulous accommodations, the hiking adventures and our two awesome tour guides Ashleigh and Lauren. I did not want to leave the country and hope to be back for another breathtaking adventure in New Zealand with Active Adventures. ”
    Annette Hollingsworth – Texas, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • A wonderful World! Galapagos is a Divine Treasure

    “I had a fabulous trip! Zambo and Paulo were great! You can't even describe it but suffice to say photos can't do this justice and there's magic in the wildlife. A treasure not to be missed!”
    Priscilla Merrill – New Hampshire, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • Wonderful Trip in a Gorgeous Country!

    “Enough hiking and challenges to satisfy, yet still with opportunities to relax. Great sampling of the different parts of the South Island, a variety of activities & lodgings, delicious meals, and the best guides ever! Thank you, Jackie & Pepper!”
    DeAnn Ringgenberg – Texas, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Kiwi, March 2018

    “Our guides were fantastic, and of course the scenery and hiking were incredible. The people are friendly, and the country is not crowded or noisy. Several times on the trip, I thought, "Wow, I'm really enjoying being able to do this without the stress of driving, making hotel and dinner reservations, juggling hikes due to the fickle weather, etc." I would do it again in a heartbeat. I need to explore the North Island now!”
    Steve Palkovitz – Virginia, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • Tui March 2018 - Amazing trip!

    “This was the trip of a lifetime! I saw so many beautiful sites, enjoyed the company of a great group of people, and had the opportunity to experience some things I never thought I would. Everyone at Active Adventures did a wonderful job of making sure questions were answered and all details were sorted. Liana and Simon were excellent guides who made sure everything we needed was taken care of while at the same time being fun, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about everything New Zealand had to offer!”
    Theresa Pastoria – Michigan, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • New Zealand North Island Kauri Trip

    “Absolutely amazing. Had a fantastic time with our wonderful guide Andy. It was a great mix of activities - hiking oceanside, forests, and mountains, sand board surfing, snorkeling, and mountain biking. We even squeezed in a little ocean fishing, which Andy cooked up for our dinner. We really enjoyed being in a small group, which allowed for a lot of flexibility. New Zealand is gorgeous. ”
    Helen Wellons – New Jersey, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • Great guides!

    “The guides on our trip, Daniel and Sambo, were exceptional. They knew the areas well and took good care ou us. They really made the trip enjoyable.”
    Pat OBryan – Illinois, United StatesIguana, April 2018
  • Tui Trip

    “This trip was wonderful, enjoyed every minute and it was so well organized. Our guides were the best.”
    Don Walker – Colorado, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Kiwi Trip

    “The combination of stunning vistas, welcoming companionship, super accommodations, and energetic guides (Koru and Emma) couldn't have been better. This trip was just what I needed. As described, some of the adventures asked me to step out of my comfort zone - sea kayaking, for instance. And, am I glad I did!!”
    Larry Martin – Georgia, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • The Challenge of the Classic Inca Trail

    “For anyone who wants to challenge themselves this is the trip for them. The scenery was breath taking and the camping is certainly luxury. You are treated like a queen.”
    Maggie Means – Florida, United StatesJaguar, April 2018
  • Best Holiday Ever!

    “Best holiday I've ever had.”
    Richard McGowan – New South Wales, AustraliaCondor, April 2018
  • Perfect Guides

    “A really great trip. Very well organised with really friendly and helpful guides, excellent food and a great sense of camaraderie. The scenery and culture was wonderful and the trip built nicely to a climax.”
    Jack Levell – , OmanKauri, April 2018
  • Incredible Himalayan Adventure!

    “Hard to say what the best part was - every day was incredible with great guides, good food, challenging trekking and stunning scenery. After a lifetime of reading about the Himalayas and the exotic places - Lukla, Khumjung, Namche Bazaar - to finally experience it was a dream come true. Exotic, exciting, fun to the max! Loved the different foods, the smells, the sights, the people. The kids on the trail along the way were so curious and friendly. This was a great interface with a culture and lifestyle that is fast disappearing.”
    Tom Ress – Alabama, United StatesKhumbu, April 2018
  • Wonderful Guides, Great Trip

    “Had a fantastic time on this trip. Andy and Jo were fantastic and if the weather prevented us from doing one activity, then they always had an alternative. I was the one always bringing up the rear of the group on the trails and Andy and Jo always looked out for me and never made me feel I was holding anyone up. I am so glad I took this trip and tried all the activities. Cannot wait to go on another trip with this company.”
    Kathy Orta – California, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • Active Accomodates!

    “Active went above and beyond expectations when my traveling companion suffered from altitude issues. They re-organized our trek in Namche to route us to villages nearby where my partner could enjoy the local culture as well as enjoy the fantastic views all around us. Kudos to Amanda, Gokul and Bibek (who was exceptional in his guidance and friendship to my partner throughout).”
    Ron Bagliere – New York, United StatesEBC, April 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “It was definitely trip of life time. I loved the adventure.”
    Flora Riyahi – Nova Scotia, CanadaJaguar, April 2018
  • NZ coming back!

    “Loved the bush hikes, the wind whipped alpine crossing, and the soothing mineral springs baths.”
    Michael Orta – California, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • Once in a Lifetime Vacation

    “Every island has different wildlife to enjoy. There was so many sea lions, golden rays, whales, large sea turtles, land tortoise, blue footed boobies, hammer heads, Galapagos shark, etc. the guides are amazing. They take you biking, kayaking, hiking, diving, etc. never a dull moment.”
    Penny Miller – Florida, United StatesTortuga, April 2018
  • Best Trip Ever

    “Every day was a unique adventure. Great group, guides and landscapes. Looking forward to our next journey with Active.”
    Carmen Lamar – Colorado, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Great Trip!

    “Loved the trip. Lots of fun, education, and challenge. Great leadership by Holly and Claire”
    Don Ferris – British Columbia, CanadaManuka, April 2018
  • More Than I Ever Imagined

    “The depth of this trip was astounding: guides, itinerary, accommodations, our group, THE GUIDES, and the country. Daniel and Maddi orchestrated each day with finesse, talent, knowledge, humor and vigor; Maddi was exceptional in her attention to individual needs. I wish there had been an opportunity to stretch each day into two or three...”
    Susan Wade – Utah, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Do It!

    “Adventurous, challenging and varied days full of fun with a small group of entertaining travelers.”
    Susan Wade – Utah, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • April 1 2018 Khumbu with Shree and Kim

    “How to express the impression of our trip is a challenge because every possible positive adjective we could use can only compare to the majesty of the Himalayas themselves. Words can not describe how hard all our team members worked to make those of us feel special and to insure our trip was absolutely perfect! Their enthusiasm for every day was contagious and the beauty surrounding us each and every moment can not easily be described, unless you've been there and been there with a world class operation like Active Adventures! Every detail was attended to and communicated so well by Shree and Kim and of course our hard working (but always smiling) porters! We would travel anywhere with Active Adventures and will hold these memories near and dear forever. Thank you to our team and for making this trip one of a lifetime.”
    Lisa Omelina – Wyoming, United StatesKhumbu, April 2018
  • Mar 4 2018 Weka

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime. I will never forget how well Nick and Elder took care of us all. Very caring and fun.”
    Maggie Steder – Wisconsin, United StatesWeka, April 2018
  • Tui Trip Review

    “Our Tui trip was fantastic. A great group of travelers from age 19 to 70 ish.
    James and Carrie, our guides, could not have been better, as they shared their knowledge and stories of New Zealand. We enjoyed their good humor and enthusiastic leadership. When some bad weather interfered with the daily plan, headquarters and our guides did a great job in providing for our comfort, safety, and finding a way to enjoy our day. This 8 day trip provides a great introduction to the beauty of the South Island.”
    Paul Tichenor – Michigan, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Mother Daughter Trip to New Zealand - Tui Trip March 2018

    “I can't tell you how fantastic this trip was for my 21yo daughter and I. I had done a lot of homework on this trip and couldn't imagine doing it any other way than with Active Adventures.
    The guides made our trip. They were enthusiastic and attentive every minute!!
    Our accommodations were clean and comfortable. Our excursions were well thought out and we even stopped along the way for a daily added detour which was great.
    I would recommend this to any who want to see and do a lot in the short amount of time we had.
    Nice job Active Adventures!”
    Kim Delamont – Colorado, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Highly Recommend Khumbu

    “Our Khumbu trek exceeded our expectations. The trails were a challenge but not difficult if you have physically prepared for some steep and uneven terrain. Views of the Himalayas made the trip well worth the effort as well as side trips to the Buddhist Monasteries along the way. We could not have been happier with our guides Kim and Arjun for their knowledge and assistance along the way.”
    Edward Erway – Kentucky, United StatesKhumbu, April 2018
  • Rimu 2018, We will Always Remember!

    “An outstanding trip that met all my expectations and so much more. Our guides Ash, Lauren and Pepper were truly outstanding and made the trip one in a lifetime. I close my eyes and I can see the sights and smell and taste NZ. From hiking in Nelson Lakes National Park to kayaking and biking, it was all wonderful.
    We will be back....”
    Romana Davies – Texas, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • First Class Trip

    “My adventure in Peru was amazing. My guide Zach was very knowledgeable and helpful with anything you could throw at him. The accommodations and crew and food were absolutely incredible. I highly recommend Active Adventures for your world trip journeys.”
    Andrew Reed – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, April 2018
  • Awesome

    “This was an awesome trip. I enjoyed every second of it. Enjoyed the people around me, I made some new friends. Amanda and Gokul were great. I got the cough and cold in the beginning of my trek. Amanda and Gokul were on top of their game in making me feel better. The porters were just amazing people, they carried our overly weighted duffel bags without a second's complaint.”
    Mae Stinnett – Alaska, United StatesEBC, April 2018
  • Tortuga with Pablo

    “We enjoyed living on the islands for this trip. It gave us a much better feel for the islands and the country. We felt like we were living it, not just visiting it. Pablo was passionate about the Galapagos Islands and committed to ecology. It was a very enjoyable trip.”
    Dave Lardinois – Wisconsin, United StatesTortuga, April 2018
  • Great Fun, Interesting Trip

    “The Tapir trip in Ecuador was amazing. Lovely country, wonderful guide, Mauro. We got to see and experience so many different landscapes and adventures - including cycling down Cotopaxi Volcano, a walk around a lagoon near Cotopaxi, a night at a charming hacienda, views and swinging over cliffs in Banos, a lovely lunch near Banos, an Amazon waterfall hike that was challenging but terrific, a night at a rustic Amazon lodge with the sounds of the jungle lulling us to sleep, boat rides along the Napo River, a visit to a demonstration of local Amazon crafts, a visit to a wildlife rescue place on the Napo River, a beautiful thermal spa east of Quito with a lovely hike along a river wedged between two lush green mountains, and a final stay at a new, luxury hotel outside Quito near the airport. Mauro, our guide, told us many interesting facts about the country and was very attentive to our wishes and needs.”
    Bruce Smith – California, United StatesTapir, April 2018
  • Outstanding, Attentive Guides

    “We had a great tour including an amazing variety of terrains with beautiful scenery. I especially loved all the waterfalls. We had outstanding guides who were very attentive, professional and efficient.”
    Judy Evans – Wisconsin, United StatesWeka, April 2018
  • Perfect Way to Pack South Island Awesomeness into 7 days!

    “The title says it all. If you have a week to hit the highlights, this is the prefect trip. The route and sites selected were ALL amazing. The activities were accessible to a wide range of active abilities, and the guides were hands-down the best adventure guides I’ve had. Besides the incredible beauty the South Island offers at every turn, there were a few things that stood out for me that make Active Adventures the right choice. 1- Group size was perfect. 2- the logistics management of the guides. The guides are masters at anticipating your fun level and changing things up if needed (such a socked-in rain). 3- speaking of guides, they are knowledgeable, personable, and professional. They kept us on track and entertained. I can’t say enough about them! 4- Food and coffee is always flowing. I was always fed and prepped for activities with plenty of delicious New Zealand coffee stops. Also, much of the meals were made delicious and fresh by the guides! Active Adventures knows what they are doing, and it shows in the quality of their tours. Booking with them is a no-brainer! We’ll definitely be booking with them again.”
    Melissa Reyes – Texas, United StatesTui, April 2018
Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure